VN Exempts Visa for Citizens from Seven Nations

2:47:04 PM | 12/31/2014

The Government has issued Decision No. 99/NQ-CP on visa exemption in a definite period for citizens from the Russian Federation, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland.  
Regardless of their passports and purposes, citizens from these nations will be exempted from visas to temporarily stay in Viet Nam for a maximum time of 15 days.
The policy, valid within five years from January 1, 2015 till December 31, 2019, will be considered to be extended based on Viet Nam’s regulations.
Currently, Viet Nam allows nationals of 14 countries to enter Viet Nam without a visa for varying time periods. These nations include Brunei, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Japan, the RoK, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Russia and Finland.
Other special visa exemptions will also be given to citizens of France and Chile holding valid diplomatic or official passports for visits of 90 days at the maximum or several visits of 6 months at the maximum and APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) holders from Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) member economies for visits of 60 days at the maximum.
In addition, foreigners and Vietnamese nationals bearing foreign passports who enter Viet Nam through an international border gate and then travel to Phu Quoc Island and stay in Phu Quoc less than 15 days will also be granted visa exemption.