Viet Nam Resumes Visa Exemption Policy for Citizens from 13 Countries

9:48:03 AM | 3/21/2022

The Government has decided to resume visa exemption for citizens from 13 countries after nearly two years of border closure due to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The beneficiary countries are German, France, Italy, Spain, the UK, Russia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Belarus.

Under the policy, citizens from the aforesaid countries shall not have to apply for visa if duration of stay does not exceed 15 days since the date of arrival.

The policy shall only be applicable from March 15, 2022 to March 14, 2025 and may be considered for extension.

Viet Nam closed borders to foreign tourists from March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Thanks to effective implementation of the COVID-19 vaccination campaign launched on March 8, 2021, the Government decided to switch away from zero COVID policy to safe and flexible adaptation to the pandemic and gradual recovery of economic activities, including phased resumption of inbound tourism from last November.

The Government decided to allow foreign tourists to visit the Southeast Asian country since March 15 without requiring them to book tour packages.